skip navigation

S M L Text size

NEI Workshop to Identify Gaps, Needs, and Opportunities in Ophthalmic Genetics

Airlie Conference Center, Warrenton, VA
June 4-5, 2009

Participant List

Co-Chairs

Janey Wiggs, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Ophthalmology
Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts Eye & Ear Infirmary
243 Charles Street
Boston, MA 02114
Tel: 617-573-6440
janey_wiggs@meei.harvard.edu

Elaine R. Mardis, Ph.D.
Associate Professor in Genetics and
Molecular Microbiology
Co-Director, The Genome Center at
Washington University
Washington University School of Medicine
4444 Forest Park Blvd
St. Louis, MO 63108
Tel: 314-286-1805
emardis@watson.wustl.edu


Elizabeth C. Engle, M.D.
Professor of Ophthalmology and Neurology
Harvard Medical School
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Tel: 617-919-4030
Elizabeth.Engle@childrens.harvard.edu

Lindsay Farrer, Ph.D.
Boston University
BUMC, L320
One Silber Way
Boston, MA 02215
Tel: 617-638-5393
farrer@bu.edu

Terry Gaasterland, Ph.D.
Professor of Computational Biology and Genomics
Director, Scripps Genome Center
University of California at San Diego Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Scripps Genome Center, MC0202
Hubbs Hall, room 2125
Tel: 858-822-4600
gaasterland@ucsd.edu

Robert Lavker, Ph.D.
Professor of Dermatology
Center for Genomic Medicine
Feinberg School of medicine
Northwestern University
Chicago, Illinois 60611
Tel: 312-503-4315
r-lavker@northwestern.edu

Louis Pasquale, M.D.
Associate Professor of Ophthalmology
Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts Eye & Ear Infirmary
243 Charles St.
Boston, MA 02114
Tel: 617- 523-7900
Louis_Pasquale@meei.harvard.edu

Margaret Pericak-Vance, Ph.D.
University of Miami, Miller School of Med.
Miami Institute for Human Genetics
PO Box 019132 (M-860)
Miami, FL 33101
Tel: 305-989-7492
MPericak@med.miami.edu

Jerome I. Rotter, M.D.
Director of Research,
Medical Genetics Institute
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
8700 Beverly Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90048
Tel: 310-423-6467
jerome.rotter@cshs.org

Anand Swaroop, Ph.D.
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bldg 10/10B11
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-435-5754
swaroopa@nei.nih.gov

R. Reid Townsend, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor in Medicine and
Cell Biology and Physiology
Director,
Washington University Proteomics Center
Washington University School of Medicine
Tel: 314-362-7709
rtownsend@wustl.edu

Daniel Goodenough, Ph.D.
Takeda Professor of Cell Biology
Department of Cell Biology
Harvard Medical School
220 Longwood Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
daniel_goodenough@hms.harvard.edu

Michael Gorin, M.D., Ph.D.
David Geffen School of Medicine
University of California, Los Angeles
695 Charles E. Young Drive South,
Box 708822
Los Angeles, CA 90095-7088
Tel: 310-794-5400
gorin@jsei.ucla.edu

Simon W. M. John, Ph.D.
Professor, Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institutes
The Jackson Laboratory
600 Main Street
Bar Harbor, Maine 04609
Tel: 207-288-6496
simon.john@jax.org

Rohit Varma, M.D.
Keck School of Medicine
University of Southern California
1450 San Pablo St.
DEI - 4900
Los Angeles, CA 90033
Tel: 323-442-6411
rvarma@usc.edu

Alan Verkman, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine and Physiology
Departments of Medicine & Physiology, Cardiovascular Research Institute
University of California-San Francisco
Health Science East Tower, Rm 1246, 505 Parnassus Ave
San Francisco, CA 94143-0521
Tel: 415-476-8530
verkman@itsa.ucsf.edu

Alexander F. Wilson, Ph.D.
Senior Investigator and Co-Chief, Inherited Disease Research Branch
Head, Genometrics Section
National Human Genome Research Institute
333 Cassell Dr, Suite 2000
Baltimore, MD 21224
Tel: 443-740-2918
afw@mail.nih.gov

Terri L. Young, M.D.
Professor of Ophthalmology and Pediatrics
Duke University Center for Human Genetics
595 La Salle Street
Durham, NC 27710
Tel:919-684-0584
terri.young@duke.edu

Donald J. Zack, M.D.
Department of Ophthalmology
809 Maumenee Bldg.
600 N Wolfe St
Baltimore, MD 21209
Tel: 410-502-5230
dzack@jhmi.edu

National Eye Institute Staff

Neeraj Agarwal, Ph.D.
Division of Extramural Research
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
5635 Fishers Lane
Suite 1300 MSC 9300
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-451-2020
agarwalnee@nei.nih.gov

Hemin Chin, Ph.D.
Division of Extramural Research
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
5635 Fishers Lane
Suite 1300 MSC 9300
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-451-2020
hc7V@nih.gov

Richard S. Fisher, Ph.D.
Office of Program Planning and Analysis
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, 6A23
9000 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20892-2510
Tel: 301-496-4308
rfisher@nei.nih.gov

Shefa Gordon, Ph.D.
Office of Program Planning and Analysis
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health, HHS
Building 31, 6A23
9000 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20892-2510
Tel: 301-496-4308
Shefa@nei.nih.gov

Lore Anne McNicol, Ph.D.
Division of Extramural Research
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
5635 Fishers Lane
Suite 1300 MSC 9300
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-451-2020
lam@nei.nih.gov

Sheldon Miller, Ph.D.
Office of Scientific Director
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, 6A22
31 Center Dr, MSC 2510
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-496-3180
millers@nei.nih.gov

Paul Sieving, M.D., Ph.D.
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, 6A03
31 Center Dr, MSC 2480
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-496-2234
ps261o@nih.gov

Santa J. Tumminia, Ph.D.
Special Assistant to the Director
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, Room 6A-03
MSC 2510
31 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892-2510
Tel: 301-496-2234
tumminias@nei.nih.gov



Department of Health and Human Services NIH, the National Institutes of Health USA.gov