The NEHEP Planning Committee is composed of experts in eye health, health education, health communication, and community outreach. Planning Committee members bring wide-ranging knowledge about eye health and experience with populations at higher risk for eye disease. As such, NEHEP relies on Planning Committee members to:

  • Recommending NEHEP program priorities.
  • Advising the overall development, implementation, and evaluation of NEHEP activities.
  • Review and refine NEHEP materials and resources.
  • Recommending new opportunities for NEHEP to achieve its goals and objectives.
  • Facilitating cooperation among the NEHEP Partnership.

In support of achieving the goals outlined in the NEHEP Five-Year Agenda (PDF 416 KB), Planning Committee members also carry out activities to help accomplish the following goal and objective:


Improve the reach and delivery of NEHEP eye health information to professionals and organizations implementing eye health education programs.


Increase the visibility of NEHEP-related research, messages, calls to action, and resources.

Planning Committee members

CHAIR: Suber S. Huang, M.D., M.B.A. Retina Center of Ohio

Eduardo C. Alfonso, M.D. Department of Ophthalmology, Bascom Palmer Eye Institute

Hanna Rodriguez Coleman, M.D. New York-Presbyterian Hospital-Columbia

Anju Goyal, M.D. Kresge Eye Institute, Wayne State University School of Medicine

Judy E. Kim, M.D. Medical College of Wisconsin

Janet Leasher, O.D., M.P.H., FAAO College of Optometry/College of Osteopathic Medicine, Nova Southeastern University

Michael Maldonado, O.D. Paul L. Foster School of Medicine, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Jullia A. Rosdahl, M.D., Ph.D. Duke Eye Center, Duke University

James Tsai, M.D., M.B.A. New York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mt. Sinai

Mark E. Wilkinson, O.D. Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine

Last updated: July 5, 2019