Home > ARVO Honors Three NEI Scientists

ARVO Honors Three NEI Scientists

News Brief

Igal Gery, Ph.D.
Igal Gery, Ph.D.

Stanislav Tomarev, Ph.D.
Stanislav Tomarev, Ph.D.

Anand Swaroop, Ph.D.
Anand Swaroop, Ph.D.

Drs. Igal Gery, Anand Swaroop, and Stanislav Tomarev will be recognized by the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) with their prestigious “FARVO” (Fellow of ARVO) designation. This award honor members for their individual accomplishments, leadership, and contributions to the Association.

ARVO fellows are recognized role models and mentors for individuals seeking careers in vision and ophthalmology research and for furthering the ARVO mission. ARVO consist of nearly 13,000 basic and clinical vision researchers from around the world.

Dr. Tomarev, chief, NEI Section on Retinal Ganglion Cell Biology, will be inducted as a new silver status ARVO fellow. Dr. Gery, head, NEI Section on Experimental Immunology and Dr. Swaroop, chief, NEI Neurobiology-Neurodegeneration and Repair Laboratory, will be elevated from silver to gold status.

ARVO will honor the fellows this May at their annual meeting in Fort Lauderdale.