Webinar-Between Thought and Therapy: Translating Neurobiology Research into Treatments

News Brief
01/30/13

Wednesday, February 13, 2013
12 noon ET, 9 a.m. PT, 5 p.m. GMT, 6 p.m. CEST

This webinar will explore how translational neurobiology research is being conducted in the Intramural Research Program of the NIH in disorders as diverse as depression, age-related macular degeneration, and Gaucher’s disease. Panelists all conduct translational research across the full bench-to-bedside continuum, with the ultimate goal of developing novel paradigms for the treatment of a range of diseases and improving the quality of life for patients.

The expert panel will:

  • Share their experiences of applying basic research at the bedside
  • Discuss the best environments for conducting translational research
  • Provide advice on working in new experimental systems, such as stem cells
  • Answer questions submitted by you!

SPEAKERS

Carlos A. Zarate, M.D.
National Institute of Mental Health, NIH
Bethesda, MD

Anand Swaroop, Ph.D.
National Eye Institute, NIH
Bethesda, MD

Ellen Sidransky, M.D.
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Bethesda, MD