Workshop participants

November 11, 2016
San Diego, California

Chairs

Marie E. Burns, Ph.D. (Co-Chair)
Professor, Ophthalmology and Vision Science, Cell Biology and Human Anatomy
University of California, Davis
meburns@ucdavis.edu

Beth Stevens, Ph.D. (Co-Chair)
Assistant Professor of Neurology
F.M. Kirby Neurobiology Center
Harvard Medical School
Department of Neurology
Boston Children's Hospital
Broad Institute Member
beth.stevens@childrens.harvard.edu

Attendees

Marius Ader, Ph.D.
Professor
Center for Regenerative Therapies Dresden
Cell Replacement in the Mammalian Retina
Technische Universität Dresden
marius.ader@crt-dresden.de

Larry I. Benowitz, Ph.D.
Professor of Surgery and Ophthalmology
Boston Children's Hospital
F.M. Kirby Neurobiology Center
larry.benowitz@childrens.harvard.edu

Mark S. Blumenkranz, M.D.
H.J. Smead Professor
Department of Ophthalmology
Byers Eye Institute
Stanford University
mark.blumenkranz@stanford.edu

David J. Calkins, Ph.D.
Denis M. O'Day Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
Vice Chairman and Director of Research
Vanderbilt Eye Institute
Director, Vanderbilt Vision Research Center
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
david.j.calkins@vanderbilt.edu

Matthew Campbell, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Genetics, Professor
Smurfit Institute of Genetics
Trinity College Dublin
matthew.campbell@tcd.ie

Cagla Eroglu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Cell Biology and Neurobiology
Director of Graduate Studies
Program in Cell and Molecular Biology
Departments of Cell Biology and Neurobiology
Duke Institute for Brain Sciences
Duke University Medical Center
cagla.eroglu@duke.edu

Deborah A. Ferrington, Ph.D.
Professor
University of Minnesota
ferri013@umn.edu

Erin Lavik, Sc.D.
Professor of Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering
Graduate Program Director, CBEE
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
elavik@umbc.edu

Nick Marsh-Armstrong, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Ophthalmology and Vision Science
School of Medicine
University of California, Davis
nmarsharmstrong@ucdavis.edu

Carol A. Mason, Ph.D.
Professor of Pathology and Cell Biology, Neuroscience
and Ophthalmology
Member
Mortimer B. Zuckerman Mind Brain Behavior Institute
College of Physicians and Surgeons
Columbia University
cam4@columbia.edu

Roxana A. Radu, M.D.
Associate Researcher of Ophthalmology
Department of Ophthalmology
David Geffen School of Medicine
Stein Eye Institute
University of California, Los Angeles
radu@jsei.ucla.edu

Pamela A. Raymond, Ph.D.
Stephen S. Easter Collegiate Professor
Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental
Biology
College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
University of Michigan
praymond@umich.edu

Joshua R. Sanes, Ph.D.
Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Center for Brain Science
Harvard University
sanesj@mcb.harvard.edu

Jerry Silver, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Neurosciences
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
jxs10@case.edu

Michael V. Sofroniew, M.D.
Professor
Department of Neurology
University of California, Los Angeles
sofroniew@mednet.ucla.edu

Deborah L. Stenkamp, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Idaho
dstenkam@uidaho.edu

Budd A. Tucker, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual
Sciences
Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
Stephen A. Wynn Institute for Vision Research
Carver College of Medicine
University of Iowa
budd-tucker@uiowa.edu

Erik M. Ullian, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Ophthalmology
University of California, San Francisco
erik.ullian@ucsf.edu

Wai T. Wong, M.D.
Investigator
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
wongw@nei.nih.gov

NEI staff

Neeraj Agarwal, Ph.D.
Program Director
Glaucoma and Optic Neuropathies Program
Division of Extramural Science Programs
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
agarwalnee@nei.nih.gov

Houmam Araj, Ph.D.
Program Director, Lens and Cataract
Oculomotor and Neuro-Ophthalmology, and Ocular Pain
Programs
Division of Extramural Science Programs
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
lens@nih.gov

Steven Becker, Ph.D.
AGI Liaison
Special Assistant to the Office of the Director
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
steven.becker@nih.gov

Martha Flanders, Ph.D.
Program Director
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
martha.flanders@nih.gov

Tom Greenwell, Ph.D.
Program Director
Division of Extramural Science Programs
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
greenwellt@nei.nih.gov

Dustin C. Hays
Chief, Science Communications
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
dustin.hays@nih.gov

Anne E. Schaffner, Ph.D.
Chief of Review
Division of Extramural Activities
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
aes@nei.nih.gov

Belinda L. Seto, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
setob@nei.nih.gov

Paul A. Sheehy, Ph.D.
Director
Division of Extramural Activities
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
paul.sheehy@nih.gov

Paul A. Sieving, M.D., Ph.D.
Director
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
pas@nei.nih.gov

Michael A. Steinmetz, Ph.D.
Director
Division of Extramural Science Programs
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
michael.steinmetz@nih.gov

Cheri Wiggs, Ph.D.
Program Director
Perception and Psychophysics and Low Vision and
Blindness Rehabilitation
Division of Extramural Science Programs
National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
cheri.wiggs@nih.gov

Last updated: July 30, 2019