Skip to content

National Advisory Eye Council Roster

Teresa Borrás, PhD                                         (2023)
Professor Emeritus
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, NC 27599

James Coughlan, PhD                                     (2023)
Senior Scientist
Smith-Kettlewell Eye Research Institute
San Francisco, CA 94115

Reza Dana, MD, MSc, MPH                                (2024)
Claes H. Dohlman Professor Ophthalmology
Harvard Medical School
W. Clement Stone Clinical Research Scholar
Massachusetts Eye & Ear
Boston, MA 02114

Katia Del Rio-Tsonis, PhD                               (2022)
Department of Biology
Miami University
Oxford, OH 45056

Thomas W. Gardner, MD                                 (2023)
Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Science
University of Michigan, School of Medicine and Kellogg Eye Center
Ann Arbor, MI 48105

Mary Elizabeth Hartnett, MD, FACS, FARVO   (2022)
Dept. of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
John A. Moran Eye Center
Salt Lake City, UT 84132

Renu A. Kowluru, PhD                                     (2023)
Department of Ophthalmology, Visual and Anatomical Sciences
Wayne State University
Detroit, MI 48201

Janice Lehrer-Stein, JD PhD                                     (2025)
Disability Rights Activist
San Francisco, CA 94115

Maureen G. Maguire, PhD                                     (2024)
Professor and Vice Chair for Clinical Research
Center for Preventive Ophthalmology and Biostatistics
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Tirin Moore, PhD                                               (2024)
Department of Neurobiology
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, CA 94305-5125

Victor L. Perez Quinones, MD, PhD                                               (2025)
Professor of Ophthalmology
Stephen and Frances Foster Distinguished Professor of Ocular Immunology and Inflammation
Director, Foster Center for Ocular Immunology
Duke Eye Center
Duke University
Durham, NC 27710

Benjamin Teller, OD                                        (2022)
Principal and Owner
Eye Rx
Chevy Chase, MD 20815

Ex Officios

Lawrence A. Tabak, DDS, PhD
Performing the Duties of the NIH Director
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892

Xavier Becerra, JD
Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC 20201


Michael F. Chiang, MD
National Eye Institute
Bethesda, MD 20892

Executive Secretary

Kathleen C. Anderson, PhD
Director, Division of Extramural Activities
National Eye Institute
Bethesda, MD 20892

Last updated: January 31, 2023