About our work

Current areas of interest of the Clinical and Translational Immunology Unit are:

  • To understand the role of gut microbiome in human uveitis and to investigate the potential of gut microbiota as a biomarker of disease onset or responsiveness to treatment
  • Identification of novel biomarkers and therapeutic targets by characterizing molecular and immune correlates of disease subtypes and activity in uveitis
  • Understanding and establishing the utility of multimodal ocular imaging as potential outcome measures in uveitis.

Clinical and Translational Immunology Unit key staff

Key staff table
Name Title Email Phone
Vrushali Agashe, Ph.D. Postdoctoral Fellow vrushali.agashe@nih.gov 301-594-5197
David Grasic, M.D. Clinical Fellow david.grasic@nih.gov 301-204-6457
Shilpa Kodati, M.D. Staff Clinician shilpa.kodati@nih.gov 301-496-5847
Wijak Kongwattananon, M.D. Volunteer wijak.kongwattananon@nih.gov 301-496-8299
Aman Kumar Volunteer aman.kumar@nih.go 301-435-0393
Jung Wha Lee, Ph.D. Staff Scientist leej@nei.nih.gov 301-496-8299
Mary Maclean, Ph.D. Research Technician mary.maclean@nih.gov 301-594-3909
Matthew McHarg Volunteer matt.mcharg@nih.gov 301-435-5139
Pulak Nath, Ph.D. Staff Scientist pulak.nath@nih.gov 301-435-5139
H. Nida Sen, M.D., MHSc Lasker Clinical Research Scholar senh@nei.nih.gov 301-435-5139
Mehmet Yakin, M.D. Postdoctoral Fellow mehmet.yakin@nih.gov 301-402-3254
Leanne Young Volunteer leanne.young2@nih.gov 301-435-5139
Last updated: October 31, 2019