Skip to content

First meeting of the National Advisory Eye Council

Group of men at the first meeting of the National Advisory Eye Council meeting
First meeting of the National Advisory Eye Council

The National Eye Institute (NEI) was established by Congress in 1968 to protect and prolong the vision of the American people. For nearly 50 years, the NEI and the National Advisory Eye Council (NAEC) have maintained a unique partnership in addressing the most pressing visual health needs. The NAEC met for the first time on April 3-4, 1969.

Pictured are:

Row 1, left to right: Dr. Glenn A. Fry, College of Optometry, Ohio State University; Dr. Edward A. MacNichol, Jr., director, NINDS, and acting director, NEI; Dr. Meredith W. Morgan, Dean, School of Optometry, University of California Berkeley; Dr. V. Everett Kinsey, Director, Institute of Biological Sciences, Oakland University, Rochester, MI

Row 2, left to right: Dr. Kenneth C. Swan, Professor of Ophthalmology, University of Oregon, Portland; Dr. Bernard Becker, Professor of Ophthalmology, Washington University; Dr. David G. Cogan, Professor of Ophthalmology, Harvard University; and Dr. Noble J. David, chief, Neurology Service, Veterans Administration Hospital, Miami

Row 3, left to right: Dr. James F. Culverl, USAF (MC) AWC, Maxewell AFB, Alabama; Dr. John E. Harris, Professor of Ophthalmology, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis; Dr. John W. Ferree, Executive Director, National Society for the Prevention of Blindness, New York; Dr. George K. Smelser, Professor of Anatomy, Department of Ophthalmology, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University; and Dr. Jules Stein, chairman, board of directors, MCA, Universal City

NAEC members not in photograph: Dr. A. Edward Maumenee, Director, Wilmer Institute, Johns Hopkins; and Dr. Haldan K. Hartline, member and professor, Rockefeller University, New York

Last updated: May 1, 2020