Skip to content

NAEC Meeting Minutes - August 9, 2022

National Eye Institute

National Institutes of Health

National Eye Institute
Minutes of the National Advisory Eye Council
One Hundred Sixty Second Meeting
August 9, 2022

The National Advisory Eye Council (NAEC) convened for its 162nd meeting at 1:30 p.m. on Tuesday, August 9, 2022. The entire meeting was closed to the public for the review of grant and cooperative agreement applications. All participants attended virtually. Michael Chiang, MD, Director of the National Eye Institute (NEI), presided as Council Chair, and Kathleen Anderson, PhD, served as Executive Secretary. The meeting concluded at 3:05 pm.

Closed Session

This meeting was closed to the public in accordance with the determination that this session concerned matters exempt from mandatory disclosure under Sections 552b(c)(4) and 552b(c)(6), Title 5, U.S. Code, and Section 10(d) of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, as amended (5, USC Appendix 2). Members absented themselves from the meeting during discussion of and voting on applications from their own institutions or other applications in which there was a potential conflict of interest, real or apparent. Members were asked to sign a statement to this effect.

Review of Application

NAEC members considered 24 research grant applications on which NEI was the primary Institute; these applications requested a total of $13,208,531 (direct costs year 01). The Council also considered 4 applications on which another Institute/Center was primary and NEI was secondary. These applications requested a total of $16,956,355 (direct costs year 01). The Council concurred with the Institutional Review Group recommendations on these 28 applications.


The 162nd meeting of the National Advisory Eye Council was adjourned at 3:05 p.m. on August 9, 2022.

Closed Session Attendees

Council Members Present:
Dr. Michael F. Chiang, Chair
Dr. Kathleen Anderson, Executive Secretary
Dr. Terete Borras
Dr. James Coughlan
Dr. Reza Dana
Dr. Katia Del Rio-Tsonis
Dr. Thomas Gardner
Dr. Mary Elizabeth Hartnett
Dr. Renu Kowluru
Dr. Tirin Moore
Dr. Benjamin Teller

NIH Staff Members Present:
Dr. Neeraj Agarwal
Dr. Houmam Araj
Dr. Sangeeta Bhargava
Mr. Nathan Brown
Mr. Donald Everett
Dr. Martha Flanders
Dr. Ashley Fortress
Dr. James Gao
Ms. Kerry Goetz
Dr. Nataliya Gordiyenko
Dr. Shefa Gordon
Dr. Tom Greenwell
Ms. Lateefah Hill
Dr. Brian Hoshaw
Dr. Paek Lee
Dr. George McKie
Dr. Lisa Neuhold
Ms. Barbara Payne
Ms. Melanie Reagan
Dr. Jennifer Schiltz
Dr. Grace Shen
Ms. Karen Smith
Dr. Hongman Song
Dr. Santa Tumminia
Dr. Cheri Wiggs
Dr. Charles Wright


These minutes were submitted for the approval of the Council. All corrections or notations were incorporated. We hereby certify that, to the best of our knowledge, the foregoing minutes and attachment(s) are accurate and complete.

Michael Chiang, MD
National Advisory Eye Council

Kathleen C. Anderson, PhD
Executive Secretary
National Advisory Eye Council

Last updated: November 29, 2022